Regal Empress confirmed in Alang

August 4, 2009

Sad sight for any ocean liner enthusiast. MidShipCentury and MaritimeMatters’ Peter Knego confirms the sad sight of the Regal Empress (Built 1953, ex. Olympia, Caribe, Caribe I, Regal Empress) now beached in Alang, India awaiting the torches of a scrapper. The photo is from 3 days ago.

2 Responses to “Regal Empress confirmed in Alang”

  1. James Wight said

    Sad day, I knew the end was near for the Egal Empress. It is sad because this was the first ship I ever sailed on, that was the 1959 Christmas cruise out of New York. I was all of 11 years old one of the ports was Cuba, we did not go ashore this was when Castro was coming to power. I travel a few times aboard her to 7-days cruise and a 3 times out of Florida as The Regal Empress. I have many fine pictures in my mind of her. Currently I have the wallpaper on my work PC a picture of Regal Empress in Ft. Lauderdale.

Leave a Reply

